Senate Will Oppose Proposal To Create 9 More Counties – Senator Mungatana

Written by on 17 August 2023

Tana River Senator Danson Mungatana has stated that the Senate will vote against increasing the number of counties from 47 to 56.

The proposal was made to the National Dialogue team on Wednesday by 9 MPs from nine counties who presented a constitutional amendment for the increase, arguing that they feel marginalised and that they, too, deserve to reap the benefits of devolution.

Mungatana, on the other hand, has spoken out against the move, claiming that it will encourage more leaders to seek sub-divisions of their counties and that it will be a difficult task to strengthen devolution across the country.

“If we go towards that direction then Tana River county will have to ask for another county and the moment I say this there will be another 47 who will be saying the same thing,” he said.

He added: “I get the sense and I understand where they are coming from because it is the same argument we made for the 47 but it is all of us will want sub-divisions of our counties, we will want new governors and it is not going to work.”

“If this proposition comes to the Senate we will oppose it. In fact, it will resurrect the idea of why can’t we have fewer counties.”

He was speaking during a Citizen TV interview on Thursday morning.

In a joint statement to the dialogue team, the nine MPs argued that their proposal is motivated by a genuine desire to strengthen the foundations of devolution and bring critical development closer to the people.

“We earnestly implore the National Dialogue talks to consider including this issue as a dedicated agenda item during the upcoming deliberations,” read part of the statement. 

The draft bill proposes to create the 48th county, Kuria County (half of Migori County), the 49th county, Teso County (half of Migori County), and the 50th county, Mount Elgon County (half of Trans Nzoia and Bungoma counties).

East Pokot County will be the 51st county, including the Tiati and Sigor constituencies, Mwingi County will be the 52nd, Gucha County will be the 53rd after Kisii County is divided in half, and Suba County will be the 54th, including the Sube North and Suba South constituencies.

Others are Ijara County (55) in Garissa and Nakuru West County (56).

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track