President Uhuru appoints 7 Panel Members to Interview Vacant IEBC Positions

Written by on 27 April 2021

President Uhuru appointed 7 Panel members to conduct interviews for IEBC positions left vacant after the resignation of commissioners Connie Maina, Paul Kurgat, Roselyne Akombe, and Margaret Mwachanya. They allegedly resigned from IEBC due to lack of confidence of leadership in their IEBC chairperson, Wafula Chebukati.

Earlier on April 16 in a gazette, The President had declared the four IEBC positions vacant. Commissioners Paul Kurgat, Margaret Mwachanya, and Connie Maina had resigned on April 16, 2018, while Roselyne Akombe left the commission in 2017 ahead of the Presidential election repeat.

The head of state appointed the following people; Elizabeth Muli, Gideon Solonka, Awori James, Achoka Elizabeth, Meyo Dorothy, Jemator Kimengech, Joseph Ngumbi, Mutie Faradim, and Suleiman Abdalla as the Members of the panel to conduct the interview in accordance with the IEBC Act, 2020.

The selected team is expected to call on qualified individuals to apply for those vacant positions within a week. Thereafter, the names of the applicants will be published on Public Service Commission Website as well as on two newspapers to ensure nationwide circulation.

The panel will later consider the applications and shortlist candidates based on qualification requirements.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track