President Ruto unveils 42-member task force to review CBC

Written by on 30 September 2022

President William Ruto has unveiled a team of 42 members and seven secretaries to review the implementation of the Competency-Based Curriculum (CBC)

According to a gazette notice dated Friday, September 30, 2022, the team appointed by the country’s head of state is expected to evaluate the CBC curriculum, and assess and recommend an appropriate structure to implement it.

Among those appointed are sacked Kenyatta University (KU) Vice Chair Prof. Paul Wainaina, and University of Nairobi (UON) Vice-chancellor Prof. Gitahi Kiama among others.

The team is expected to conceptualize and implement fundamental tenets guiding the competency-based approach.

“IT IS notified for the general information of the public that William Samoei Ruto, President of the Republic of Kenya and Commander-in-Chief of the Defence Forces has appointed a Working Party on Education Reform,” the notice reads in parts.

Private schools welcome Ruto’s directive to form a taskforce to review the implementation of CBC. PHOTO/Courtesy

Apart from reviewing and evaluating CBC, the team will also check and recommend equitable access to education, especially for those facing social, economic and geographic marginalization, vulnerable populations, children and persons with special needs.

They will also monitor tertiary institutions by reviewing and recommending a governance and financing framework for TVET training and development, university education and research and training institutions.

“The terms of reference for the Working Party are to review and recommend legislation to facilitate
the amalgamation of HELB, TVET and University Funding Boards with a view of harmonizing and merging all tertiary education funding entities,” the statement reads in parts.

At the same time, the working party will review and recommend a tracking system to capture and enrol children of school age to ensure universal access to pre-primary, primary and secondary education.

Following their appointment, the members are required to issue the president with a progress report after every two months and at the end of the term.

They are also expected to consider and invite perspectives and opinions from stakeholders and members of the public.

“The working party shall hold such number of meetings in the places and at such times as it shall consider necessary for the proper discharge of its functions, They will raise additional funding to defray its costs and regulate its own procedure,” the statement added.

Members appointed to review CBC

  1. Raphael Munavu (Prof.) – Chairperson
  2. David Some (Prof.)
  3. Halima Saado Abdilahi (Dr.)
  4. Ciriaka Gitonga (Dr.)
  5. Purity Mbaabu
  6. Edward Katue Nzinga (Dr.)
  7. Virginia Wahome (Ms.)
  8. Robert Juma Wamalwa
  9. Charles Kyalo Mutinda
  10. Gitahi Kiama (Prof.)
  11. Anthony Cheruiyot Sitienei
  12. Bishop Geffrey Waweru Gichoki
  13. Seline Chepngeno Ronoh (Rev.)
  14. Laila Abubakar (Prof.)
  15. Daniel Otieno Randa
  16. John Kamiti Munyua
  17. Paul Wainaina (Prof.)
  18. Kasanga Mutheu (Ms.)
  19. Margaret W Chege (Ms.)
  20. James Kanya (Prof.)
  21. Salome Eyangan (Ms.)
  22. Wiston Akala (Prof.)
  23. Peter Mokaya Tabichi
  24. Jane Kimiti (Ms.)
  25. Kizito Wangalwa
  26. Augusta Mwihaki Muthigani (Ms.)
  27. Peter Barasa (Prof.)
  28. Ahmed Yussuf (Dr.)
  29. Jone Mose
  30. Hassan Mwakimako (Prof.)
  31. Lynette Mwende Ndile (Ms.)
  32. Wilson Kogo (Dr.)
  33. Stephen Mbugua Ngari (Prof.)
  34. Paul Lilan
  35. Richard Githinji (Dr.)
  36. Collins Odote (Prof.)
  37. Jane Imbunya (Dr.)
  38. Jacinta Ngure (Ms.)
  39. Jerono P. Rotich (Dr.)
  40. Subira Neema (Ms.)
  41. Bernard Kariuki Njoroge
  42. Peter Njenga Keiyoro (Prof.

Secretaries to review CBC

  1. Elyas Addi (Dr.)
  2. Patita Tingoi (Ms.)
  3. David Njegere (Dr.)
  4. Jackson Too (Prof.)
  5. Reuben Nthamburi Mugwuku (Dr.)
  6. Richard Miano
  7. Eunice Gachoka (Ms.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track