President Ruto suspends 4 embattled IEBC commissioners

Written by on 2 December 2022

President William Ruto has suspended four embattled electoral commissioners pending further investigations into their conduct.

In a gazette notice on Friday, December 2, the President also appointed a four-member tribunal to inquire into four petitions seeking removal from office of IEBC vice-chair Juliana Cherera and commissioners Irene Masit, Justus Nyang’aya and Francis Wanderi.

The tribunal will be chaired by Court of Appeal Judge Aggrey Muchelule.

Yesterday, a parliamentary committee on justice chaired by Tharaka MP George Murugara recommended the suspension of the officials after adopting the petitions that called for the ouster of the four who rejected the presidential results announced by IEBC Chairman Wafula Chebukati in August.

More to follow…

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track