President Ruto appoints 20 new judges to High Court

Written by on 7 December 2022

President William Ruto has appointed 20 new judges to the High Court of Kenya.

In a gazette notice dated December 5, the President approved all the names of 20 nominees forwarded to his office by the Judicial Service Commission (JSC).

Among those appointed are seven magistrates who have been promoted to the judgeship.

They are Milimani Anti-Corruption Court Chief Magistrate Nthiga Lawrence Mugambi, Macharia Florence Wangari, Kavedza Diana Rachael, Gichohi Patricia Njeri, Mulwa Peter Mutua, Nyaga Heston Mbogo and Odera Teresa Achieng.

The other appointees are Mongare Josephine Wayua Wambua, Chirchir Sophie Chebet, Sifuna Nixon Wanyama, Shariff Mwanaisha Saida, Chigiti John Mugwimi, Mutai Gregory, Wananda John Robert Anuro and Mohochi Samwel Mukira.

Olel Francis Rayola Ochieng Odhiambo, Githiru Freda Mugambi, Magare Dennis Kizito Niwono and Visram Aleem Alnashir are also on the list.

The judges will be sworn into office on Wednesday, December 7.

Last week, JSC indicated that the 20 candidates were picked following a thorough vetting exercise that was finalized on December 1, 2022.

“After lengthy deliberations and careful consideration of the performance of the various candidates and based on the constitutional imperative of merit, gender, regional balance, and affirmative action, the JSC has recommended the appointment of the underlisted to the Office of the Judge of the High Court and has submitted their names to His Excellency the President for appointment,” Chief Justice Martha Koome said in a statement.

Vacancies for the position were advertised on March 31.

The new appointments are part of the judiciary’s efforts to reduce a backlog of cases in Kenyan courts.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track