Omanga, Itumbi, Kidero among leaders nominated for CAS posts

Written by on 17 March 2023

President William Ruto on Thursday, March 16, 2023, nominated 50 people to fill the positions of Chief Administrative Secretaries (CAS) following the recommendation of the Public Service Commission.

The nominees’ names have since been forwarded to the National Assembly for consideration and approval by Parliament in accordance with the Public Appointment (Parliamentary Approval) Act (No. 33 of 2011).

Former Nairobi governor Evans Kidero, former nominated senator Millicent Omanga and digital strategist Dennis Itumbi are among the 50 CAS nominees who were picked by Ruto.

Kidero has been nominated to serve as CAS in the Ministry of Investments, Trade and Industry which is headed by Moses Kuria.

Itumbi has been placed in the Ministry of Information, Communications and the Digital Economy while Omanga is to serve as CAS in the Ministry of Interior and National Administration.

Other prominent politicians nominated for CAS positions include;

Former Laikipia Woman Representative Catherine Waruguru (Ministry of Foreign and Diaspora Affairs), former Tana River governor Hussein Tuneyo Dado (Ministry of Public SDervixe, Gender and Affirmative Action), former Mumias East MP Benjamin Washiali and former Rarieda MP Nicholas Gumbo (Ministry f Roads and Transport).

Former Bahati MP Kimani Ngunjiri (Ministry of Lands, Public Works, Housing and Urban Development), former Starehe MP Margaret Wanjiru (Ministry of Co-Operative and Micro, Small, Medium Enterprises (MSMEs) Development), former Starehe MP Charles Njagua Kanyi alias Jaguar (Ministry of Youth Affairs, Arts and Sports),.

Former nominated MP and Knut chairman Wilson Sossion (Ministry of Tourism, Wildlife and Heritage), former Kiminini MP Chris Wamalwa (Ministry of Water, Sanitation and Irrigation) and former Kisumu senator Fred Outa (Ministry of Mining, Blue Economy and Maritime Affairs).

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track