Kenya Kwanza is Majority party in Parliament – Speaker Wetangula rules

Written by on 7 October 2022

National Assembly Speaker Moses Wetang’ula has ruled that Kenya Kwanza Coalition is the Majority party in the House.

Wetang’ula delivered the ruling while addressing the National Assembly on Thursday, October 6, 2022, bringing an end to a dispute between Kenya Kwanza and Azimio la Umoja One Kenya factions which both claimed to be the Majority coalitions.

Addressing the House, Wetang’ula ruled out Azimio being the Majority coalition in the 13th Parliament.

The Speaker noted that the Azimio coalition party comprised 26 political parties but some parties left the coalition to join Kenya Kwanza.

“In a letter write the member of Ugenya David Ochieng terminated its membership with Azimio,” Wetang’ula said.

Wetangula also said he received letters from other parties who distanced themselves from the Azimio coalition.

“It is indeed an established Parliamentary practice that the Speaker is not a mere conveyer belt of information. The Speaker must apply his mind to any communication document before it is presented to the house or admitted for use in the house,” he said.

Wetangula further announced that Kikuyu Member of Parliament (MP) Kimani Ichungwa is the Majority Leader while Ugunja MP James Opiyo Wandayi is the Minority Leader.

The Speaker further called on Ichungwa and Wandayi to submit names of MPs who will sit in the various committees of the House.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track