History as William Ruto wins Kenya’s presidential election

Written by on 15 August 2022

Kenya Kwanza Alliance flagbearer William Ruto has been declared the winner of Kenya’s 2022 presidential election with 7,176, 141 votes, which is 50.49% of the total votes cast.

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) Chairman Wafula Chebukati announced the final results on Monday, August 15, 2022, at the Bomas of Kenya.

“In accordance with the constitution and the law, I Wafula Chebukati, chairperson of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC), hereby declare that Ruto William Samoei of ID number 6847208 has been duly elected as the President of the Republic of Kenya under the provisions of Article 138 of the Constitution in the pe held on 9th day of August 2022,” Chebukati announced.

The country’s Deputy President beat Azimio la Umoja – One Kenya coalition leader and former Prime Minister Raila Odinga who garnered 6, 942, 930 votes (48.85%).

In his acceptance speech, Ruto thanked Kenyans and the electoral body and promised to unite Kenyans during his tenure. He also thanked his team led by his deputy-elect Rigathi Gachagua for supporting him during the campaign period.

“It is a wonderful evening and I want to thank God that we are here this evening to witness this momentous occasion as the people of Kenya reinstate Article 1 of the constitution of Kenya that all supreme power belongs to the people of Kenyans.

“I thank God that today we have concluded this election. In this election, jointly, we have raised the bar.

“The hero of this election is the IEBC; led by Wafula Chebukati (chairman). With the results in the public portal, all the servers were open. That became the gamechanger in this election.

“I want to thank my worthy competitor Raila Odinga for a campaign in which we all duelled on issues.

“I want to promise that I will work with all elected leaders and all leaders in Kenya so that we can fashion a country that doesn’t leave anyone behind.

“I want to promise the people of Kenya that I will run a transparent, open, and democratic government and I will work with the opposition to the extent that they provide oversight over my administration,” Ruto said.

Ruto goes into history books as the only Kenyan who became president without losing an election, and the only deputy president to win presidential election on his first attempt.

He becomes the fifth president after Uhuru Kenyatta (2013-2022), Mwai Kibaki (2002-2013), Daniel Moi (1978 to 2002), and Jomo Kenyatta (1964-1978).

Chebukati’s declaration was made moments after four IEBC commissioners led by its Vice Chair Juliana Cherera distanced themselves from the results citing opaqueness but the chairperson insisted that the entire election process was free, fair, and credible.

Raila Odinga did not attend the announcement event at Bomas of Kenya though his allies had thronged the venue moments before the announcement.

Notably, Odinga was making a fifth attempt at the top seat in vain, his first bid being in 1997 when he finished third.

In the 2022 general election, he had the backing of the incumbent president Uhuru Kenyatta and Narc Kenya party leader Martha Karua as his running mate.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track