Former legislators fight for EALA jobs

Written by on 8 November 2022

Some 287 people have applied for the nine East African Legislative Assembly (EALA) slots.

President William Ruto’s Kenya Kwanza coalition has a list of 145 applicants while ODM chief Raila Odinga has a list of 96.

The list has former National Assembly and Senate members, persons with disabilities, former Members of the County Assembly (MCA), businesspersons and technocrats.

Kenya Kwanza, being the majority in both Houses, will have five slots, while Azimio will have four slots with ODM getting two, Jubilee one and Wiper one.

Political parties have until tomorrow 9am to submit the list of their preferred nominees for vetting before the EALA joint parliamentary committee.

This means that Azimio will have a list of 12 candidates from ODM, Jubilee and Wiper and the Kenya Kwanza Majority side will have a list of 15 candidates for vetting.

The joint parliamentary committee co-chaired by Makueni Senator Dan Maanzo and Kipipiri MP Wanjiku Muhia is tasked with determining how the nine slots will be shared among the parliamentary parties.

Rules establishing the committee say it considers the names and nomination papers of the duly nominated candidates and addresses complaints.

The team is also empowered to invite the respective nominees to verify any information affecting their qualification to vie for elections under the EALA rules.

The committee has the power to reject the papers of a candidate “if it is apparent from the contents of the papers that the candidate is not qualified to vie for election.”

Senate Majority leader Aaron Cheruiyot (Kericho), while moving the motion, said per the election rules, for each position that is available, the parties of the House present three candidates.

“Once the names have been listed, members will campaign and MPs are the voters for that matter,” said Cheruiyot.

Ruto’s UDA party has 120 applicants, 60 from ODM, Amani National Congress (12), Ford Kenya (six), Jubilee (19), Kanu (four), Narc Kenya, Kenya National Congress (KNC), Azimio la Umoja party, Movement for Democracy and Growth (MDG), National Reconstruction Alliance (NRA) each have one while there are 16 Independent candidates.

Busia senator

UDA has former nominated MP Wilson Sossion, former Mbalambala and EALA MP Abdikadir Aden, former Vihiga MP Yusuf Chanzu, former Nyandarua Senator Mwangi Githiomi, former Igembe Central MP Kubai Iringo, former Chepalungu MP Paul Bii, former Bomet East Bernard Bett, former Bomet Woman Rep Florence Mutai and former Mombasa gubernatorial aspirant Hassan Omar.

Raila Odinga’s daughter Winnie Odinga, her cousin Jaoko Oburu, former Kwale Woman Rep Zuleika Hassan, former Kanduyi lawmaker Alfred Khangati, former Busia Senator Amos Wako, Mombasa businessman Suleiman Shahbal, former Kasarani MP Elizabeth Ongoro, Raila’s Chief Agent Saitabao Ole Kanchory, former Nyakach MP Peter Odoyo and former Naivasha MP John Mututho have been listed under ODM.

Others who picked forms under ODM include the party National Treasurer Timothy Bosire, former Shinyalu MPs Silverse Anami and Justus Kizito, former Wajir South MP Abdullahi Diriye, former Mandera West Adan Mohamed, former nominated MP Dennitah Ghati and Raila’s cousin Jalang’o Midiwo and former Wajir Woman Rep Fatuma Ibrahim Ali

In the applications, Jubilee has former Wajir Woman Rep Fatuma Gedi, former Kieni lawmaker Kanini Kega, his Ndaragua counterpart Jeremiah Kioni, former Taveta MP Naomi Shaban, her Kigumo counterpart Ruth Mwaniki and former Buuri legislator Gatobu Kinoti, former Kajiado North MP Moses Ole Sakuda and former Ziwani MCA Millicent Mugadi.

Former Samburu Woman Rep Maison Leshoomo, former Galole MP Hassan Lukicha, former Kiambu Town MP Jude Njomo, former Limuru MP Peter Mwathi, former nominated Senator Isaac Ngugi, former Tiaty MP Asman Kamama, former Isiolo gubernatorial candidate Hussein Tene are also listed to fight for the one Jubilee slot available.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track