David Sankok, Hassan Omar among Kenya Kwanza’s 15 nominees to EALA

Written by on 10 November 2022

The Kenya Kwanza Alliance has nominated 15 persons for election to the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA).

Among the nominees are former nominated senator David Sankok and Hassan Omar who unsuccessfully contested for the Mombasa governor’s seat in the August 9 general election.

Others recommended for EALA seats are Yasser Bajaber, Salim Busidy, Lilian Tomitom, Cyprian Iringo, Jonas Kuko, Abdikadir Aden and Falhadha Iman to EALA positions.

Joel Nyambane, Godfrey Karobia, Fredrick Charles, Zipporah Kering, and Rebecca Lowoiya have also been nominated for the positions.

ODM unveils EALA nominees

Earlier, the ODM party, which forms part of the Azimio la Umoja – One Kenya coalition, unveiled a list of six nominees to the regional assembly.

Notable names on the list include ODM party leader Raila Odinga’s daughter Winnie Odinga, the party’s national treasurer Timothy Bosire and former Mombasa gubernatorial aspirant Suleiman Shabal.

Others are Justus Kizito, Beatrice Askul and Mohammed Diriye.

In a statement on Wednesday, November 9, ODM said the six were nominated yesterday during the party’s selection committee meeting presided over by deputy party leader and former Kakamega Governor Wycliffe Oparanya.

A total of 145 candidates had expressed interest in representing Kenya Kwanza at EALA while Raila’s camp had 96 applicants.

The nominees will appear before parliament for vetting before a vote is cast to determine members who will represent Kenya at the regional assembly.

Raila’s Azimio and President William Ruto’s Kenya Kwanza are jostling for nine slots allocated to Kenya at EALA.

Kenya Kwanza, being the majority in both Houses, will have five slots, while Azimio will have four slots with ODM getting two, Jubilee one and Wiper one.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track